Peter Foott Receives Nomination for Bingham Ray New Talent Award at the Galway Film Fleadh

Posted July 1, 2016 by Suzanne Murray in News
Peter Foott
Peter Foott

The Young Offenders director Peter Foott has been recognised for his achievements in directing by the Galway Film Fleadh and has been announced as one of the finalists for the Bingham Ray New Talent Award. This is Foott’s debut feature film and sees him taking on the role of both director and writer of this new Irish comedy.

Audiences will know Foott’s work in comedy television with his hit show ‘The Fear’, now in its fourth season on RTE. He has also written and directed for the popular ‘Republic of Telly’ so he is no stranger to creating award winning comedies for Irish audiences. “The Young Offenders” sees Foott take on the story of two lads from Cork who rob bikes and cycle off in search of cocaine that has washed up on the coast. The film will have its premier at the Galway Film Fleadh on Friday the 8th of July at 8pm in the Town Hall Theatre to a sold out audience. The film is set to be one of the biggest Irish releases this year with Ryan Tubridy labelling it “the best Irish film I’ve seen in years”.

The award itself is named after leading American independent film executive Bingham Ray who was a regular at the festival throughout his career at October films, United Artists and Sidney Kimmel. The Galway Film Fleadh acknowledge his contribution to the Irish film industry saying: “Bingham gave so much of his time to mentoring filmmakers over the years at the Galway Film Fair, listening, advising, believing and encouraging. The Irish film community benefited hugely from Bingham’s wealth of knowledge across the complete spectrum of the film industry and the many friendships that he made along the way is a testament to his generosity in sharing his experience.”

The winner will be announced at the Closing Night Awards Ceremony at 7pm on Sunday July 10th.

The 2016 nominees are:

Peter Foott, ‘The Young Offenders’

Caoilfhionn Dunne, ‘In View’

Seána Kerslake, ‘A Date For Mad Mary’

Tara Lee, ‘A Date for Mad Mary’ and ‘Moon Dogs’